Prof Mary Fuller Finalist for the Association of American Publishers 2024 PROSE Awards!

Published on: March 7, 2024

Lines Drawn across the Globe Reading Richard Hakluyt’s “Principal Navigations” by Professor Mary Fuller

The Association of American Publishers (AAP) today unveiled the 118 finalists and 41 Category Winners for the 48th Annual PROSE Awards honoring scholarly works published in 2023. Featured is Prof Mary Fuller’s Lines Drawn across the Globe: Reading Richard Hakluyt’s “Principal Navigations,” McGill-Queen’s University Press.

“The PROSE Awards 2024 Finalists and Category Award winners illustrate the extraordinary depth, breadth and complexity of scholarly authorship and publishing,” commented Syreeta Swann, AAP’s Chief Operating Officer. “We are pleased to honor these works, and delighted to report that the standard for scholarly works has never been higher.”

“This year’s PROSE Awards were one of the most competitive to date, highlighting the broad array of high-quality scholarly works available to readers,” commented Dr. Nigel Fletcher-Jones, PROSE Awards Chief Judge. “We look forward to announcing the R.R. Hawkins Award Winner and Awards for Excellence winners, which continue to expand expectations of what scholarly publishing can be.”

The 41 Category Winners will now be eligible for the next level of PROSE honors – the Awards for Excellence winners, which will be announced in the coming weeks.

The Awards for Excellence winners comprise the following four awards:

  1. The 2024 PROSE Award for Excellence in Biological and Life Sciences
  2. The 2024 PROSE Award for Excellence in Humanities
  3. The 2024 PROSE Award for Excellence in Physical Sciences and Mathematics
  4. The 2024 PROSE Award for Excellence in Social Sciences

Of these four Awards for Excellence winners, one will receive the PROSE Awards highest honor, the prestigious R.R. Hawkins Award.

Finalists are linked according to their area and category, with finalists chosen as Category Winners italicized.

2024 PROSE Award Finalists and Category Winners